An update of what I've recently finished or am currently reading:
(click on pictures to begin slideshow)

1. The Thieves of Manhattan, Adam Langer
    A story about life inside New York's book publishing world. It's not exquisitely written, but the plot is interesting enough (on this I may be biased because it's an industry in which I'm seeking employment).

2. Based Upon Availability, Alix Strauss
    This novel follows the lives of eight women who are all somehow connected by the Four Seasons Hotel in Manhattan. The book has it moments as far as literary fiction is concerned, but it's at least a beach read in which you might find yourself happily lost. Also, if someone wants my copy it's up for grabs -- and it's signed! 

3. Let the Great World Spin, Colum McCann
    I'd like to write a separate post on this because it has nearly become an all-time favorite (those spots are currently held by Steinbeck's East of Eden, Ann Patchett's Bel Canto, and Flannery O'Connor's The Violent Bear It Away), but if you haven't read it, you must. Contrary to popular superficial perception, the book uses Philippe Petit's 1974 tightrope walk across the Twin Towers as an example of an event and the degrees of meaning it can have for every witness and penumbral characters. The writing in the first chapter is absolutely incredible and void of cliches, setting the tone for the rest of the novel, which unfolds the story of intertwining lives all affected to some degree by each other and the events of that muggy August day.

4. A Year of Magical Thinking, Joan Didion
    Prepare your tissue box. This is my first time reading Didion and neither her writing nor her narrative style have failed to meet my expectations. The memoir follows the year after her husband's death as she takes herself through the steps of grieving. I recommend it wholeheartedly.

5. The Great Lover, Jill Dawson
    I've just started this and I'm told the author is a hit in the UK. More tk.

What do you think, friends? Have you read any of these? Let me know!
10/13/2010 06:05:33 pm

Hello! Nice to meet you, Today is a good day. Hope you a happy day. I am like your blog very much.

Reply
7/15/2012 07:18:01 pm

nice post

Reply



Leave a Reply.